Home Sweet Home

So in between all my holidays and research trips this summer, I have been staying in my hometown of Brentwood.  Having lived here all my life I have really grown to love my little town, it has its faults, like any and its ever growing population of fans of The Only Way is Essex doesn’t bode well for our reputation, but it really is a quaint little town.  With just enough shops to keep your interest, but not too much industry to make it busy and rough like neighbouring towns.  I live in a semi-rural area of Brentwood called Coxtie Green, adjacent to a large country park called South Weald.  It means that the view from around my house is fields, woodlands and meadows, all of which look beautiful in the summer.

Despite being a small town, with little liveliness for young people, I still love coming home.  It’s a stunning area that inspired my love of nature and the environment from such a young age, and I will never tire of coming back here.  South Weald is the main highlight of my area, for me and my dog Polo.  With its sweeping hills and winding woodlands, as well as its huge lakes filled with an abundance of different bird life!  I love coming here all year round, but the summer is definitely the best, particularly as the captive fallow deer that have been rescued over the years are at the most liveliest at this time.

South Weald, Essex

Just down the road from me, and the park, is my local public house called The White Horse, renowned for its successful annual beer festivals in the summer holidays.  Here it serves home cooked lunches and a vast array of local ales and beers from the Brentwood Brewing Company, and having just been refurbished and the addition of a wonderful beer garden and BBQ area outside, it has become a popular local.  I hope next summer brings it the custom it deserves.

White Horse Pub, Coxtie Green

This year my neighbours were actually involved in a charity event in Coxtie Green raiding money for orphanages in Africa.  It was a good cause and lovely day out, and I sincerely hope the tradition continues each year.  I actually decide to get involved myself this year, by volunteering for my local community at the Brentwood Strawberry fair, promoting the sale of local produce.  It was a really rewarding experience that introduced to me to lots of new people and organisations based in Brentwood that I hadn’t appreciated before, such as the fantastic fruit and vegetables available from Calcott’s Farm.

I know my family won’t stay in this area forever, but I will always love this place and the memories I have here.  It what inspired me to care about my surroundings and pushed me to get involved in conservation, so it is my aim to be able to finally give back.

About wilsoemi

A 1st Class Biological Sciences graduate, with a Masters degree in Conservation Biology. Dedicated to nature and conservation, with over three years voluntary experience in environmental and conservation charities and NGO's. Currently working for the World Society for the Protection of Animals and volunteering for London Wildlife Trust.
This entry was posted in Fresh Posts, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

