The Royal Wedding

I’d never given much thought to the Royal Family, before their presence never really seemed to make itself particularly obvious to me.  I wasn’t born for Diana and Charles, and was too young to understand the significance of her death or the Camilla scandal.  All I ever saw was the odd charitable event or celebrity photo opportunity with the princes and that was that, in fact I never even knew who Kate Middleton was until the announcement of the engagement.  So I certainly wasn’t expecting just how much of an effect the whole business would have on the country, or even the world.

The Wedding Crowd

Everyone was so excited about the bank holidays that the wedding would provide and with all the memorabilia floating around with their faces on tea towels and masks and even graffiti in New York I realised it was actually a bigger deal than I imagined and I god caught up in the euphoria.  When Channel 5 showed the awful rendition of their life long story and how they met, I decided to search for more accurate and less cringe worthy details of their lives.  It turns out they had met at university and fallen in love, but with the strain of being a prince, William decided that Kate would not be right, or happy in that world, and ended things.  However after some time apart they soon rekindled their love and decided they’d waited enough.  The controversial engagement ring that was Diana’s caused a stir but yet everyone seemed to know this was going to be a huge moment in history, and one never to be forgotten.

Walking down the Aisle

When the day came I wanted to get up and watch the whole event from the beginning.  At first I was excited like most of the population by the prospect of what celebrities would show up, who was invited and whether any crazed members of public would end up running down the isle saying “I object! I love Prince William!” But as I saw Harry and William in their formal attire entering Westminster Abbey I was mesmerised, and the appearance of the Beckhams and Elton John became a distant memory.  Kate Middleton in her wide windowed car driving to the abbey looked stunning and as she stepped out, with her as beautiful sister Pippa carrying her train I watched her walk down the most wonderful aisle, lined with small trees, with the brightest smile on her face (although with a little too much make up I might add).  William was so relaxed and with Harry he was even comfortable enough to joke here and there.  The whole day was spectacular.  I had never before seen the true wonder of a show that the Royal Family could put on, with the magnificent and luxurious attire and carriages, especially the Queen’s cavalry and the Lancaster bombers flying over head.

Proud to be British

It was truly a day to be proud to be British.  So many members of the public went to London to celebrate with the royals and it really was a nationally and even internationally epic event, and I was so glad it happened in my lifetime!

About wilsoemi

A 1st Class Biological Sciences graduate, with a Masters degree in Conservation Biology. Dedicated to nature and conservation, with over three years voluntary experience in environmental and conservation charities and NGO's. Currently working for the World Society for the Protection of Animals and volunteering for London Wildlife Trust.
This entry was posted in Fresh Posts, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

