One Night in Paris

I decided quite suddenly after Christmas that I would go to Paris at the start of January for just one night, to see two sisters from Australia that I had met on my travels in Thailand.  I had stayed in contact with both and when they said that they were visiting Paris after there own travels and would I like to join them and their family, I said yes.  It was such a fantastic 48hrs where I saw all the sights of Paris.

Tour Eiffel

On the evening of my arrival we headed past the Arc de Triomphe, to the Eiffel Tower.  After walking up the 674 steps to the second level in the chilly cold wind we were rewarded with a fantastic view of the city. We stopped to eat some waffles and enjoy a well deserved and needed hot chocolate as unfortunately the lift up the top of the tower was ‘out of order’.  Once we made it back down the sun was just going down and we were just in time to see the tower all lit up: magnificent!  We headed over to the Trocadero area, only to be approached by nick knack sellers, and after being asked if I was indeed Lady Gaga (presumably as I was the only blonde in the group), was given a free key ring of the Eiffel Tower itself!  We then all had dinner at Hippopotamus and enjoyed some lovely cocktails.

Arc de Triomphe

The following day we explored the rest of Paris, getting the metro to the Louvre in the Jardin des Tuileries, visiting the Notre Dame and then on to the Grand Palace before heading to the Champs Elysees.  We enjoyed snails for dinner and although it was sad to say good bye it had been such a fantastic visit and I was asked to come and stay with them in Sydney whenever I want:  cannot wait to take them up on the offer!

About wilsoemi

A 1st Class Biological Sciences graduate, with a Masters degree in Conservation Biology. Dedicated to nature and conservation, with over three years voluntary experience in environmental and conservation charities and NGO's. Currently working for the World Society for the Protection of Animals and volunteering for London Wildlife Trust.
This entry was posted in Fresh Posts, Holidays, Holidays Abroad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

